Speaking Out: Faith through the Storm

I am SO excited to be a part of the Blog Hop team promoting A Time to Speak -Nadine Brandes’s newest dystopian novel in her Out of Time series. This incredible novel released on October 16th and I can’t tell you how much I enjoyed the continuation of Parvin Blackwater’s courageous adventure. What excites me most about being a part of this blog hop is the opportunity to SPEAK OUT.Hashtag-Called2Speak-2

This past weekend my family and I flew to Texas to visit our daughter for her first collegiate homecoming. We were so excited…until we saw the weather report. We were heading into the dark purple pixilation of 10+ inches of rain with flood warnings. I prayed. I worried. We got on the plane hoping we’d make it to Texas and drive the hour and a half to see our daughter.

We flew into the storm. The flight took an extra hour and a half as it tried to navigate around the storm but in the end we had to fly into it. We made it but our plane had to park on the runway of DFW until the lightning, sheets of rain, and thunder died down enough for us to safely get off the plane.

Sitting on the plane made me think of how often I head somewhere without knowing what will happen in the journey. Life as a military family makes this a common occurrence. We’re given our orders and we report for duty.

Two and a half years ago our family was assigned to Washington D.C. We had no idea the storm we were going to face would introduce our family to the devastation of suicide, depression, and mental health issues. If we’d known, you can bet we’d turned around and said, “No way, Jose!”

In the book of Luke, Jesus tells his disciples to go to the other side of the lake. They obeyed unaware of the storm ahead. But Jesus knew. The disciples were afraid. They forgot who was with them. And Jesus called them out on it…after He calmed the storm, of course. Jesus asked, “Where is your faith?” (Luke 8:22-25 NIV)

Where is my faith? In those dark days of the storm I admit I was like the disciples. I was terrified of losing my daughter. I was terrified I wouldn’t be able to save her. I forgot who was with me. The One who knew about the storm before we stepped foot on the boat. The One who promised to never leave me or forsake me. The One who will calm the storm if only I have faith.

Jesus has a way of growing our faith. Even the disciples were left asking, “Who is this? He commands even the winds and the water, and they obey him.” During the storm it was hard to see the rainbow on the other side but here we are. God is faithful. I only have to have the faith to believe He is with me.

Storms will come but my faith comes in knowing Jesus is with me. He knows what lies ahead and He will be by my side until I make it to the other side.

What makes you want to speak out?  http://bit.ly/AmazonATtSPaperback #Called2Speak #ATime2Speak(Click to tweet)

ATimetoSpeak5What happens when you live longer than you wanted to? 

Parvin Blackwater wanted to die, but now she’s being called to be a leader. The only problem is, no one wants to follow.

The Council uses Jude’s Clock-matching invention to force “new-and-improved” Clocks on the public. Those who can’t afford one are packed into boxcars like cattle and used for the Council’s purposes.

Parvin and Hawke find themselves on a cargo ship of Radicals headed out to sea. What will the Council do to them? And why are people suddenly dying before their Clocks have zeroed-out? 

Book Two in the “Out of Time” series.

ATimetoDieCov

Read about the first book, A Time to Die, here.

 

Don’t forget to check out the amazing giveaway a Rafflecopter giveaway//widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js“>  You could win a signed copy of A Time To Die AND A Time to Speak!!

9.28.15 – Gretchen Engel
9.30.15 – Nadine Brandes
10.01.15 – Jason Joyner
10.05.15 – Gretchen Engel (part 2)
10.06.15 – Tricia Mingerink
10.08.15 – Gretchen Engel (Scriblerians)
10.09.15 – Emilie Hendryx
10.11.15 – Janeen Ippolito
10.12.15 – Zachary D Totah
10.14.15 – Brittany Valentine
10.15.15 – Andrew Swearingen
10.17.15 – Megan Besing
10.19.15 – Angel Roman
10.20.15 – Charles Franklin
10.21.15 – Lisa Godfrees
10.23.15 – Shantelle Hannu
10.27.15 – Natalie Walters
10.29.15 – The Artist Librarian
11.02.15 – Rosalie Valentine
11.17.15 – Amanda Fender
5 thoughts on “Speaking Out: Faith through the Storm

Leave a Reply

