A Love Message from My Father

baby-84639_1280I’m going to share something with you that feels so personal it makes me second-guess myself. This morning I received a personal message. One so personal that I don’t want to share it but then a huge part of me wants to scream it from the rooftops. This morning I received a loving message from my Father. I know, I know, some of you are probably going to stop reading now but I beg you to hang in there. This won’t be long and I feel like it’s so important.

As I was reading my Bible this morning, in the book of Isaiah, God is sending a clear message about the destruction he is going to bring on Israel because of her sinful disobedience. This book is filled with destruction and despair but there’s also a message of love and redemption if only they would turn back to the One who loves them. Okay, if I haven’t lost you yet here’s the love message I received:

“Listen to me, you descendants of Jacob,

all the remnant of the people of Israel,

you whom I have upheld since your birth,

and have carried since you were born.

Even to your old age and gray hairs

I am he, I am he who will sustain you.

I have made you and I will carry you;

I will sustain you and I will rescue you.”

-Isaiah 46:3-4

Now, you’re probably thinking to yourself, “Uh, Natalie, I think it’s talking about the descendants of Jacob…the people of Israel. Last time I checked you were in Georgia.” Yeah, I know. BUT and this is a big but (not just the capitalized letters either) what I want you to do is replace the section “descendants of Jacob, all the remnant of the people of Israel” with your name. Then read it again. Come on, it’ll take five seconds. Did you do it?

“Listen to me, Natalie,father-445096_1280

you whom I have upheld since your birth,

and have carried since you were born.

Even to your old age and gray hairs

I am he, I am he who will sustain you.

I have made you and I will carry you;

I will sustain you and I will rescue you.”

In a world that tells we’re not enough this message says just the opposite. It says we’ve been loved since the day we were conceived. Held since the moment we took our first breath. And no matter what we face we will be sustained; carried; and rescued. I don’t know why but this message from my heavenly daddy just spoke to me so deeply it’s hard for me to find the words to express how I feel. I don’t even know if there are enough words or if they’d even be the right words. What I do know is that I needed to hear this and I wanted to share it because I know there are people in this world, friends, family, who need to hear this too. I pray this message of love brings joy to your life today.

3 thoughts on “A Love Message from My Father

  1. Beautiful Nat! I woke this morning thinking about the Fathers love for us, and how if we mankind could just get a glimpse of His glory NOTHING else would matter! Then when I sat down to share the days devotional with Mike I began to weep because it was about Jesus healing the Leper. Jesus is willing to reach out to us in our most pitiful conditions and make us whole, just as he did with the Leper, Jesus reached out to him! I believe Jesus is reaching out to us and making us whole, then all these “things” will no longer matter. Just as long as I believe in His great love, and I learn to be a reflection of Him. “Love in, love out”.

    • Thank you!! There is so much going on in the world today that we really have to cling to what we know is true. God did not give us a spirit of worry but of peace. I think I remember someone telling me that before 😉

  2. Love this Natalie! I love how personal God is. I often find that even promises to the Israelites or other people groups may not be “for me” but they show the nature and character of God! I love that ❤

Leave a Reply

