Warm Lentil Soup with Homemade Pita Bread

Screen shot 2015-02-12 at 11.03.59 AM

 

I’m so excited to add something new to my blog. I love to cook. Well, that’s not true. While I do love cooking I find there are days when I love it less-like when I’m busy, tired, overworked, and out of ideas for something new. But I love taking raw ingredients and creating something amazing!! And let me tell you, cooking gives instant results. They may not always be great results but within a couple of hours or less there is a result. Unlike writing, which seems to take days, weeks, months, and even years before any results can be seen much less amazing results.

Because I’m a busy momma I love finding recipes that are simple. Even better I love finding recipes that are simple and delicious. And better than that, recipes that are simple, delicious, and look amazing-like Gordon-Ramsay-put-me-on-Master-Chef amazing! Ok, I might be tooting my horn a bit but they do look pretty darn good and that’ll make you look pretty darn amazing!

When my family moved to Cairo, Egypt, I hate to admit this but I was very nervous about trying new foods. But at the urging of my dear friend we went to lunch and I ordered what I thought was the safest bet, lentil soup. Warm pita bread, a squeeze of lime juice and I was hooked. So when my sister shared this recipe with me I hoped it would take me back to that small cafe on Road 9 in Maadi.

IMG_9620Lentil Soup*

3 tbsp olive oil, plus more for drizzling          1 lg. onion, chopped

2 garlic cloves, minced                                       1 tbsp. tomato paste

1 tsp. ground cumin                                            1/4 tsp. Kosher salt

1/4 tsp. ground black pepper                            pinch of ground chili powder or cayenne, more to taste

1 qt. chicken or vegetable broth                       1 cup of red lentils

1 lg. carrot, peeled and diced                             lime wedges and chopped cilantro to taste (optional)

Directions:

1. In large pot heat 3 tbsp. of oil over high heat until hot and shimmering. Add onion and garlic, saute until golden, about 4 minutes.

2. Stir in tomato paste, cumin salt, pepper, chili powder or cayenne, and saute for 2 minutes longer.

3. Add broth, 2 cups of water, lentils and carrot. Bring to a simmer. Then partially cover pot and turn heat to medium-low. Simmer until lentils are soft, about 30 minutes.

4. Using an immersion blender or regular blender, puree half of the soup and then add back to pot. Soup should be somewhat chunky. (I used an immersion blender directly in the pot and found the soup to be the perfect consistency-small chunks of carrots still remained).

5. Reheat soup if necessary. Serve soup drizzled with good olive oil, a squeeze of lime juice, and cilantro.

This recipe made just enough for my husband, teenage son, and I to have a full bowl serving. In the future I would double and probably triple it so I’ll have enough to enjoy all week-long. Yes! It’s that good!!

IMG_9615If you’re like me then you can’t eat soup without some warm bread. I       found an amazingly simple pita bread recipe that will make you look like the superstar you are!

Pita Bread Recipe* courtesy of Chef John and Allrecipes.com

 

So are you ready to be a rock star in the kitchen? Try this recipe and tell me what you think? Better yet, post a picture and show me your AMAZING results!!

Screen shot 2015-02-12 at 12.14.06 PM*Disclaimer: I do not claim any recipes as my own and when possible will give links and/or acknowledgment to creator or recipe site.

 

4 thoughts on “Warm Lentil Soup with Homemade Pita Bread

  1. Sounds yummy, Natalie! And hey – grab your confidence and make up your own recipe! It took me years to make up my own recipes, but I had to for my chocolate class, come up with two new truffles. Scared me to death, but I did it, and they were both very good! The only recipe I can say is truly mine is a variation of a Chex recipe for Plantation Chicken. It’s really good, and it was all about substituting ingredients. Still makes it your own, though! 🙂 Go Nat!

    • Emilie the recipe is so simple! If you make it as is it’ll be just enough for you but if you want to share…double, lol. My kids ate all of my leftovers and I wasn’t a happy camper 🙂

Leave a Reply

