New Year’s Bucket List

Swim with whale sharks. Unknown

Visit Alaska and see the Northern Lights, ride in a dog sled and see whales. 

Watch the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day parade in New York City.

Become fluent in a foreign language.

These are only a few of the things on my bucket list. I never thought I would have a bucket list but as I grow older I’ve begun to think about the things that I would like to do in my life. When we got our orders for Cairo, Egypt, so many people talked about that place being on their bucket list. Visiting, much less living in, Egypt was never on my radar of things I had to do in my life. And yet, there I was, in a land of a thousand minuets thanking God for the opportunity to be there.

images-1Often bucket lists make people think of immortality. A list of things you want to do before you die. But I see it differently. I look at it as a list of dreams, hopes, and opportunities. And the list is open-ended.

Jeremiah 29:11 says, “For I know the plans that I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” God is the giver of opportunity. God is the deliverer of hope. There are dreams and hopes and a future that I cannot even imagine but that God has already planned for my family and I.

As 2012 comes to a close, instead of thinking of a list of resolutions, I am dreaming of what God is going to do in my life in the New Year. My eyes are wide open and I wait in great anticipation of what the Great I Am has in store for my family and I.

imagesDo you have a bucket list? If so, what are some of your dreams and goals? Has there ever been something that wasn’t on your list (like my Egypt assignment) but the event or opportunity was a blessing in surprise? Leave a comment and tell me about it. 

*Today is your last chance to enter into the drawing for A Few Of My Favorite Things series. Look for the winner’s name in next week’s blog. 

 

 

5 thoughts on “New Year’s Bucket List

  1. I think my wish or goal would be to travel with my best friends abroad, sounds a bit radical, right? I have never been to England, but I would love to and experience it with close friends. Get a British accent too. And go to France and practice on my french, in order to perfect it. When I was in sixth grade, we had a French teacher, his name is mr. Yann, before he left Egypt, I told him that I want to be able to speak as fluent as him, we still exchange e-mails, which is really cool! Another goal of mine, is to go to college in England with my best friend and increase our friendship. As 2012 comes to an end and a new year starts, I have two main goals: increase my relationship with God and friends with each day, each hour and each minute. Happy new year aunti Natalie! Love sarah

  2. Going to see NYC was on mine, and in May I can check it off. To live in New Zealand and Scotland (and get a scottish accent) are some things on mine.

  3. Hey Natalie,
    My bucket list is way too long! Some of the items are feel weightless like an astronaut, see the Northern Lights, be debt free, meet a member of royalty and more.

    Great minds think alike. I actually created an online bucket list at http://www.bucketlist.org and I wrote a blog post about it a few months ago. The link to the blog post is below.

    The site’s so neat! You should make one too. You can also add things you’ve done off your list. I hope yall have a Happy New Year! Talk to you in 2013! 🙂

    Morgan

    http://www.pensonaworldmap.com/2012/09/creating-bucket-list-for-life.html

  4. I think I have some of the same things to do, see and experience on my bucket list as the author of this blog. I am looking forward to crossing off the New York visit from the list next year.

  5. Your bucket list looks similar to mine. Besides travelling the world, which is something you are blessed to do (sorta) view the Northern lights and swim with whale sharks and watch an African sunset/sunrise is some of mine

Leave a Reply

