A World of Traditions

A Few Of My Favorite Things continues this week with:

Favorite Traditions/Recipes

Being a military family has given me the privilige to experience a world of cultures. One of the many blessings of having friends from around the globe is the treasure of being invited into their homes to experience something new. 

Image

My friends teaching me how to make Venezuelan Hallacas.

Recently I was invited to make a Venezuelan dish called Hallacas. Similar to Mexican tamale this one is filled with a stew, along with boiled egg, onions, peppers, olives, and capers. Wrapped in banana leaves it’s like a little present of yumminess (it’s even tied with a bow!)

Image

Me with my first Hallaca.

It was such a treat to spend time with these wonderful ladies from Venezuela, Chile, Columbia, Honduras, and of course, the U.S. and learn about their traditions (all while I practiced my Spanish listening skills). 

As I get ready to move from Egypt, I’m sad to leave such a sweet community of friends but I know that they will always have a special place in my heart as I think about all that they have shared with me. Muchas gracias mi amigas. Dios los bendiga a ustedes ya sus familias.

Do you have a special holiday tradition in your family? Have you ever been a part of another cultures holiday tradition? Share with me your favorite tradition and you will be entered into this month’s A Few Of My Favorite Things giveaway.

 

 

12 thoughts on “A World of Traditions

  1. Definately being in the Foreign Service brings alot of blessings our way. It’s hard constantly moving and leaving good friends and family behind but I’ve found out that as hard as it is parting from those we’ve gotten to know during our travels the nicest thing is what we learn from them and what we take with us. Viva la amistad!!

  2. Natalie,it was a pleasure to share with you some of our lovely traditions,we loved having you there and I’m happy knowing that you enjoyed such an special time with us!
    In the journey of life you meet several people who are hard to forget.I am glad to meet a person like you.Hope the path ahead is smooth for you and the family,May God grant all the happiness and may goodwill be on your sides for the years to come.All the best on your new family Adventure!
    Maria Cormack xx

  3. Thank you Natalie!! This “hallacada” was quite an experience for me as well I really enjoy everything, the making, the eating but mostly the getting all together and sharing this tradition!!!
    There is one tradition I learned to love when I was on the States it is Thanksgiving!!! Love it and try to celebrate where ever I am!

    • I think the American tradition of Thanksgiving transcends all borders and cultures. Coming together to be thankful and to eat delicious food is what makes the day special. Keep in touch my friend.

  4. Tradition!. My favorite musical, Fiddler on the Roof. Our family has some very special traditions. They have had to adapt to changes as we have. Last Saturday, I made 17 dozen tamales and will be making more next week. Yesterday, i folded 150 white paper bags and will fold another 150 tomorrow for luminarios to light the pathway for baby Jesus to come to our home on Christmas Eve. This coming Saturday, I will be baking biscochitos and missing my grandchildren, Kea, Kiana and Kimokeo as they are so instrumental in rolling, cutting and sprinkling the cinnamon and sugar on the cookies. Then handing out over 1,000 of them to those coming by our home on Christmas Eve to enjoy Tularosa’s Luminario tradition. Family, family, family that is the best tradition we have had in our family. To be with each other and enjoy the special time we have with each other.

  5. I have a great holiday tradition to add to your list of traditions. My wife of 17 years has always loved a certain Christmas movie. Every Christmas Eve my kids and I know that we will be watching 24 hours of a Christmas Story. My wife loves this movie and looks forward to watching it over and over and over again on Christmas Eve.

    Tony

Leave a Reply

