Top Ten Reasons


Image

 I’m back!! I know, I know. It’s beginning to sound a bit like Brett Favre’s mantra, “I’m retired-now I’m not,” But unlike Mr. Favre, age and fear of injury will not keep me out of the blogging game. Procrastination and my three children might, though.

It’s not that I have been doing anything all of these months (yes, it’s been six months since my last post-yikes!) but as a writer, mother and wife, it’s a hard balancing act. I decided to share what’s been keeping me away from the blogging scene in David Letterman style with a Top Ten List.

Here goes:

Top Ten Reasons Why I Haven’t Blogged Since March.

10. L-A-Z-Y. Yep, I admit it. I haven’t put it on my list to do and I if it is on the list, it’s usually somewhere near the bottom and often gets pushed to the, “I’ll do that tomorrow” list.

9. Pinterest. If you’ve experienced the phenomenon that is Pinterest I probably don’t need to say anything more. If you’ve been under a rock and haven’t yet heard about this social movement then I warn you…BEWARE! You will lose track of hours, days, meals, and maybe sleep browsing this site. On the plus side, you can turn a coffee table into a play desk for your child; feed a family of five with four ingredients in a crockpot; and learn how to turn an old t-shirt into a cocktail dress.

8. Went home for the summer. As in back to United States of America! Doesn’t sound like it would keep me away from blogging and believe me there were plenty of moments I could’ve written about but with three summer camps, one mission trip, and five states, it was everything I could do just to get to bed at a decent time-not sure I ever overcame the jetlag. #8 leads me directly to #7

7. Shopping in the U.S. of A. I can’t tell you how much I’ve missed Target. I almost peed my pants walking down the cereal aisle in Wal-Mart. Don’t get me wrong. I’ve shopped at those places before I moved to Egypt. Oh, but once those places are no longer available…well, let’s just say I could hear the Hallelujah song playing as I entered the mega-stores.

6. Chick-fil-A; Starbucks; Panera; Corner Bakery; and all of the other restaurants not available in Egypt. To include all of my favorite local joints serving the best Mexican and Hawaiian food. I also very much enjoyed going to the stores mentioned in #8 and preparing home cooked meals (including the new recipes I pinned from Pinterest!). Needless to say I came back with a few extra pounds and this wasn’t in my luggage!

5. Moving. No, we haven’t moved yet but we submitted our “wish” list to the Army and anxiously awaited our new assignment. So, you might be thinking, where are you moving? Well, it’s been a bit of seesaw for us. To give you an idea of our options our top five choices were: Australia, Germany, Texas, Washington D.C., and Korea-in that order. We were told on August 1st that we would be packing our bags for the land down under. We were so excited! Then three days later our orders changed to Washington D.C.. We were so sad! Then we returned to Egypt and our orders were put on hold because they wanted us to extend here in Egypt for another year. We were so confused! But finally, as in five days ago, we received our orders (in paper-so they’re legit) to Washington D.C. Whew!

4. Kids=Sports=Busy. Soccer, cross country, and swim team means I have one more calendar to add to the three calendars I already have posted around the house. Each child has a designated color and my calendar is a rainbow of meets, games, practices, and appointments. When I get back to the States, I think there’s this electronic thing I can put all of these calendars into one place and I fully intend on purchasing said electronic thing…hope my husband is reading this! (In case he is, I don’t want there to be any confusion-I’m talking about the IPhone, my love!)

3. Inspiration leads to obsession. I attended my first writer’s conference in the beautiful mountains of Colorado Springs. Learning from authors, talking with aspiring writers, and being encouraged led me to purchase a whole new shelf of books on writing. You never stop learning. Unfortunately, the more I read, the less I wrote. I’m still working on the process of prioritizing and time management. I learned that I need to put my tush in the chair and just write if I was ever going to get anything written.

2. Fear. This one is a hard thing for me to admit, but it’s true. Fear keeps me from blogging because it whispers, “No one wants to hear what you have to say.” “What do you know about writing?” “Nobody is going to read your blog anyway.” Ooh, that ugly dragon, (*I read a great blog about the four dragons who tempt writers-I’ll add a link at the bottom of this page-definitely worth the read even if you aren’t a writer) it kept me far away from the keyboard. Some of what the dragon whispered might be true, but some of it is not, and the truth is blogging makes me write, and writing is what I want to do. No matter what the format.

1. Lastly, my number one reason for not blogging since March. My book. I’m on chapter twenty-six and chugging right along. My character, Claudia Reyes has found herself in Egypt, a country she hates because of the devastating memories it brings back to her mind and her sister, Maria, is missing. Now Claudia must rely on the help of a handsome stranger to find out what really happened to Maria. It’s been exciting to watch my characters grow and evolve and even more exciting to see my story coming to life. I hope to have the first draft completed by the end of the year and a completed manuscript ready for submission by next summer.

There you have it. My top ten reasons for not blogging. Most of them are reasonable. Others need to be worked on. But at least I’m back to blogging. Thanks for reading and sticking with me. Oh, and keep an eye out for an upcoming contest!!

*www.acfw.com/blog/?p=4907 check this blog out!

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Reasons

  1. Pinterest seems like it’s been sucking a lot of people in. I haven’t succumbed to it yet; I fear if I do I’ll never get anything done! I also know what you mean about fear; most of the time I’m wondering if people would find what I have to say interesting. But you just have to grit your teeth and do it! This is the first time I come across your blog, but I must say that this post was really good. =D

    Good luck with your book, by the way!

    • Thanks so much for the kinds words. I think the one blogging has going for us is it really does provide a glimpse into our lives. I have to keep reminding myself that even if no one reads it, at least I’m writing. Maybe I can archive it and give it to my grandkids someday, I’m sure they’ll get a laugh, not to mention wonder about things like Pinterest. Remember when FB was new and you just couldn’t get enough of it…sort of how I feel about Pinterest. But that, too, is starting to subside as I’ve tried so many recipes and now they seem to repeat. Anyway, thanks so much for commenting. I look forward to checking out your blog too.

  2. Welcome back. Love your top ten. Much better than Letterman’s! Be safe in Egypt and I am glad you get to come home. Keep on writing and I look forward to reading your book. My first one is doing pretty well but like you my second one keeps getting put on the back burner. Now my kids (now both in college) are not keeping from writing, its now my husband who wants to travel and play. Travel now writer later i guess. Might write a non-fiction travel book. Top Ten places to visit for people who are not into art museums and zoos. What do you think.

    Happy Writing

    • Thanks Cindy!! Glad to hear about your first book. As I continue to work on mine I get overwhelmed thinking about the next one. I think a non-fiction travel book would be awesome and to experience all of the culture and atmosphere! It would give you plenty to use for your next fiction book. Thanks for commenting!!

  3. You had me cracking up! I can spend a whole day on pinterest and not accomplish anything. I totally agree with 7 and 6, I will have that same problem in about 35 days heehee. I’m scared to see my first real grocery bill! 🙂

  4. LOL please do not pee in your pants on the isles at Wal-Mart. 😉 excited to see that you are moving back to the US and really happy you are blogging again. I love your writing and can’t wait for that book

Leave a Reply

