Be Careful What You Pray For

I have always wanted to travel. I like adventure and I love learning about new places. Marrying a military soldier was perfect since they travel so much across the world. Until recently, in the almost fifteen years of our marriage I had yet to step foot outside of the United States. Whenever our time came up for a new duty assignment we would list every overseas assignment available and then pray that God would send us. He never did.

It took a lifetime of prayers but God finally answered. However, I should have been warned to be careful for what I pray for.

We received our orders for our next assignment to Cairo, Egypt. We were beyond excited to see where God would have our adventure take us. As a family we were as ready as we could be for this next step in our lives and we were planning accordingly-we wanted to travel!

We started dreaming of all the things we would see and the places we would visit while we were in Egypt. Among the top were Israel, Greece, Italy, Spain, Germany, and of course being on the continent of Africa we would definitely have to do a safari. The possibilities were limitless.

When we arrived in Egypt it took us a couple of weeks to adjust and acclimate ourselves to the vast differences in culture. But it didn’t take long before we were making our plans to visit the infamous pyramids, ride the camels and take pictures of landscapes that you only see on the Discovery channel. I couldn’t believe how blessed we were.

The warning came as a suggestion at first but quickly turned into lockdowns as the country of Egypt decided it was the perfect time for a revolution. Our trip to the pyramids was cancelled and we were going to be evacuated from our home. I was tempted to take a picture of the pyramid depicted on a tour bus so that at least my camera had a picture of something I had seen in Egypt.

I know I prayed for adventure, but this was not what I had in mind.

God has a funny way of answering prayers. I have prayed for a long time to travel and God sent us to Egypt. Although my time there was short, we did get an opportunity to see Athens, Greece, since that was our first destination out of Egypt. And as we made our way home we also stopped in Amsterdam, Holland.

Traveling I did; adventure I got. But the next time I pray, it will be more specific – as in peace for the countries we visit, a stay to be longer than 3 weeks or 1 day — and for a little less adventure.

 

 

One thought on “Be Careful What You Pray For

  1. Praise God you got out of the country safely. He does tell us to pray specifically, Looks like he really means it =) Glad you are home safe and I look forward to hearing what God does next through you.

Leave a Reply

